Wrapped Up In Books


Hockey Night in Canada
August 31, 2008, 8:24 am
Filed under: A, Biomusicology, potpourri | Tags: , , , , , ,

So, as many of you fellow Cdns know, CBC lost the bid on the ‘Hockey Night in Canada’ theme song earlier this year to CTV.  It was a really unfortunate loss, but CBC is holding a competition to find its substitute.  I know nothing will really ever properly replace this song, but hopefully something will come close.  I’ll promote this one, if only because I’m acquainted with its creator, but it’s also pretty good, too.  Less upbeat than I’d prefer (and to me, it even sounds wistful at times), but something will have to do.

Copyright © 2008 WrappedUpInBooksBlog. All rights reserved.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Even though I’m a Yankee, I’ve been watching HNIC for the last 40 years and it just won’t be the same without the HNIC original theme song.

However, this one isn’t too bad. For the last few years, CBC has only used the original theme for the last few seconds of their intros so I guess it won’t matter. Still, it’s a part of my youth I have very fond memories of.

Comment by stphoto




Leave a Reply

