Wrapped Up In Books


Nostalgia for something I’ve never experienced

I’ve ditched listening to melodious and quiet songs for brain stimulation in exchange for tastier tunes. Immediately, I switched over to Girl Talk‘s new album, Feed the Animals, and when my iTunes came to Still Here, I took pause. In just the first seconds of the track Gillis mixes Kanye, Youngbloodz, and, I realized, Procol Harum. One of my all-time favourite songs is Whiter Shade of Pale.

What I’m trying to lead to is that I feel nostalgic for a decade that I’ve never experienced. My favourite show growing up, and probably even now if I had access to it, was The Wonder Years. I identified with Winnie Cooper (now a very well-respected mathematician, Danica McKellar). There was something about the show’s writing that made you happy and sad at the same time (don’t even get me started on the series finale). It’s not that I think times were simpler then (I know they were not without problems), it’s just that I can so easily parallel my generation to theirs. To my parents’.

What brought me to think of this is that Americans are on the brink of potentially having another seriously inspiring leader at the helm of their country. It seems as if there is a revolution just around the corner. It’s something we can teach future generations about one day.

Never think that your actions do not matter because you’re only one person. There are a lot more out of you out there, and banding together is always what has encouraged and accomplished change for the better.

JFK said “Our problems are man-made, therefore they may be solved by man. And man can be as big as he wants. No problem of human destiny is beyond human beings.” Frankly, I couldn’t agree more.

Copyright © 2008 WrappedUpInBooksBlog. All rights reserved.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

