Wrapped Up In Books


A small confession
November 11, 2008, 11:49 pm
Filed under: A, potpourri | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

I feel as though, without any deliberate attempt to do so, I am becoming UK-ified. Little by little. It started a few weeks ago when I accidentally spelled something in my lecture notes “…ised” versus “…ized.” I had a medical statistics assignment due yesterday and consistently and unintentionally wrote “summarised” and “analysed” over and over. Even now my auto-spell check is telling me there is something awry with that spelling.

Otherwise, I’ve tried to pick up on some slang in order to blend in a bit better. A friend called my apartment a “gaff” and I had no clue what he was talking about. I admit that I resorted to urbandictionary.coming it understand. I know “gaffe” but knew it didn’t have any context within the situation.

Last week I asked my classmate what he meant when he exclaimed that it was “taking a piss” while waiting for the bus after class. I know that it means to berate someone when you’re “taking the piss out of them”, but just “taking” piss confused me. I was honestly laughed at, then was told that it was sort of similar to saying something is a joke or bullshit. The bus was late (as per always) so it made sense. (Urbandictionary.com does not support this answer, but hey, I’ll take a native’s word for it.)

Moreover, I’ve started calling classes “lectures” and even calling school “uni.” The latter is the word I probably hate the most in the whole slang lexicon. To go to “school” here means high school or even primary school, so apparently I sound silly when I say I’m at school, going to school, coming home from school, etc. People will say they spent the day at uni, etc. Not just “I go to uni” as an abbreviation for “I go to university.” I find it strange, but it saves me a few characters in my text messages, so I’ll deal with it.

Otherwise, I’m still quite (ack, I say that a lot now, too) over my fries phase (I do not call them ‘chips’), but I’ve caught onto another closetedly quintessential British food: Banoffee syrup. This combination of foodstuffs was, to me, a somewhat mystical creation that I had only seen depicted in Love, Actually a few Christmases ago (and many, many times since, I’ll admit). I can’t find the youtube clip in English, but basically Keira Knightley’s character presents a box of banoffee pie to her husband’s best friend who she thinks hates her but really loves her, blahblahblah. And when he refuses it, she says “You’d have broken my heart if you’d said yes” in reference to him taking it. So I figured it’d be tasty.

I was fucking wrong. While I’m sure banoffee syrup is not representative of banoffee pie or any other thing, it’s basically like a syrupy version of an ultra saccharine-sweet banana penicillin medicine. However, as you can see, that hasn’t kept me from nearly demolishing this entire bottle (atop pretty decent non-dairy vanilla ice cream).

dsc057701

I have no idea why the image has rotated itself. And I can't fix it.

Still unconquered: vegan haggis. I’ll have to psych myself up for that one, though.

Copyright © 2008 WrappedUpInBooksBlog. All rights reserved.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I really need to work on being less redundant in my segues.

Comment by bohemianvegan




Leave a Reply

