Wrapped Up In Books


Light-heartedness in the blogosphere

There are a few blogs that I have in my Google Reader that really make my day. They don’t post often, but when they do, they’re so completely worthwhile.

The first was passed on by R, and it’s hilariously titled “Cute Boys Make Me Nervous“. A Quebec/Toronto ex-pat now living in Paris gathers photos and little blobs of info from readers and compiles it on her site, always with absurd addendums. Calling people out as “ESLs” (English as a second language), and little ditties like this make me laugh:

And maybe I should stop internet talking shit about boys in Toronto because I’ve already told everyone I know there that I want to sleep with them and\or think they have ugly clothes and it’s going to be really shit when I go back. (It’s kind of like when your friends break up with their shit boyfriends and you blow up the dam and say “Fucking finally. Man he was way too lame for you also he had B.O. and everyone talked about it” and then they get back together and you are foiled.)

Also, I recently found the sort-of-pointless-yet-I-read-it anyway-blog called “Fuck Yeah! Ryan Gosling“.
With gems like these, how can you go wrong. Also, it’s Ryan f-ing Gosling.

tacoshirt-fell-offdavocado

The last photo gets bonus points for having Ryan Gosling AND Rachel McAdams together as well as making reference to the awesome avocado-eating dog video (youtube it – “now that’s an avocado-eatin’ dog!”).

I also really like the deprecatory humour of “Toothpaste for Dinner“. It’s all sad-sack funnies and I kept this one on “unread” for awhile just to see it more than once.

live-strong

I’ve mentioned “Garfield Minus Garfield” before, which is basically the Garfield comics minus the cat himself.

gmg

And finally (at least for the purposes of this post), there’s “Fail Blog” which seriously caters to the completely juvenile side of my humour. I think my favourite humour is of the observational persuasion.

fail-owned-nation-distinction-fail

fail-owned-diva-gina-failfail-owned-amateur-firefighter-fail

Hahahhaha.

Copyright © 2009 WrappedUpInBooksBlog. All rights reserved.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I think you would like this shirt

Comment by andrewalinn101

Thanks – I actually don’t like the shirt, but hey, it’s the thought that counts, right.

Comment by bohemianvegan

i like that garfield minus garfield site too 🙂

Comment by josie




Leave a Reply

