Wrapped Up In Books


“I asked them to give me the Ellen DeGeneres” / “His resignation was his confession”

I wrote my statistics exam this morning, came home and needed to veg out so I watched a movie, then another, then another.  Perhaps not the best use of my day, but what the hell, I rarely make a day of slacking so I let myself have it for once.

First  off I watched Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist which I’ve been meaning to see for ages.  It’s basically an I-wish-Michael-Cera-was-of-an-age-that-dating-him-would-be-more-appropriate kind of movie.  He plays a dude super into music, which isn’t far off from his real-life self (he’s in a band called The Long Goodbye with his friend, Clark Duke, and they purposely record nothing) who falls in love with a girl also into music.  Not a totally great film, but it still makes one long for the broke musician type who wouldn’t be caught dead with having either Bette Midler or Nickelback in their iPod (nevermind both).

The aforementioned Clark Duke stars in Sex Drive which was an awful movie and I couldn’t bring myself to finish it.  Don’t see it, it’s total shit.

Lastly I watched Doubt which was incredible.  I have to give mad props to Meryl Streep for so convincingly playing the role of the head nun/bitch, and also thanks to Natalie Portman for never taking the supporting role that Amy Adams played.  This has been released in the UK yet but I’d really recommend seeing it when it opens.  Just to postpone any studying for my health economics exam I’m going to read up on the USA’s problem with trading around pedophiles who moonlight as priests from parish to parish; the John Jay Report in 2004 showed that 4% of America’s priests (n=4392) had sexual offenses/accusations lodged against them.  I remember watching The Trouble With Angels when I was little and (very temporarily) wanting to grow up to be a nun despite not even being Catholic… how glad am I that I didn’t.

Copyright © 2009 WrappedUpInBooksBlog. All rights reserved.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I watched Sex Drive. Yes, all of it. That’s 2 hours that I’ll never get back.

Comment by L

Sex Drive was actually quite an enjoyable movie. It reminded me numerous such films of the late 90s and early 00s. Maybe it was just meant for guys.

Comment by Jay

Maybe so; something must’ve been lost in translation then. I’m still sticking with my original opinion that it was poorly acted with a bad script.

Comment by bohemianvegan




Leave a Reply

