Wrapped Up In Books


“The ossuary tour could make a strong impression on children and people of a nervous disposition.”

In my seriously War and Peace-esque post on my Christmas holiday I completely neglected to mention my visit to the Catacombs in Paris.  I actually only realised it when my friend who is about to go to Paris asked me what I’d recommend doing there and this was at the top of my list (screw shopping when I can look at morbid things).

The title comes from the warning that’s displayed at the entrance to Les Catacombes.  I loved it.  You’re not allowed flash photography, but I made do with the little light there was.  Here are a few photos from my flickr (go and see the rest if you like; it’s linked from my Facebook).

122131415

Now that I think about it, the other favourite thing of mine in Paris is Le Cimetière du Père Lachaise.  (Photos below.)

6718

The last two photos are Frédéric Chopin and Oscar Wilde’s graves, respectively.  I think progress is about to be made to remove the kisses from Wilde’s monument (I think Revlon is sponsoring it), but I’m not sure.  Either way, now you know that I am truly entertained by the most morbid things!

Copyright © 2009 WrappedUpInBooksBlog. All rights reserved.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

