Wrapped Up In Books


Life is good.

Things seem to be going well at the moment.

1) I have a place to live next year. It rules because it’s in a good area of the city (Rosemount, if it means anything to anyone); it’s less than a mile to the hospital and I get to walk through a gorgeous park to get there. Also, it’s probably less than a mile into the city centre which means getting home from nights out costs less. It has a backyard and it’s furnished, which is a foreigner’s dream. I’m almost too excited at the thought of buying bedding.

2) Yesterday, I finished my discussion chapter of my thesis. It’s now in the capable hands of my supervisors who will surely dissect it, but that’s what I rely on them for. So, as it stands, I have a finished first draft of this m-fer. Now I need to edit my lit review which hopefully won’t take me much longer than a few days (though productivity is waning today).

3) Monday is a bank holiday and I’ve been told not to go to the office. I am overjoyed and don’t know what to do with an entire day off. Go to the beach and do laundry, likely.

4) I booked a flight home and will be in Ancaster/Toronto for an entire month from August 29. I’ll be back in Aberdeen the day before my PhD begins. I’m usually jetlagged for as much as a week when I fly back and forth anyway, so I figure giving myself one day to acclimate is no worse than a week. Quite excited to fly British Airways as I hear their veggie meals are delicious (Air Canada’s have, um, too many beans), and I managed to get the shortest travel duration both ways which also happened to be the best price (still $827 CDN).

5) I’m seeing Year One tonight and I’m psyched.

Copyright © 2009 WrappedUpInBooksBlog. All rights reserved.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

